Syllabus

The GARC members share their knowledge by presenting items of interest each week. These presentations last between 30 minutes to an hour. Sometimes it’s a technical presentation, sometimes general interest or an item of historical significance.

There is always something interesting happening at the GARC and visitors are always welcome. The club is open every Wednesday afternoon from 1:30pm to 4:00pm and every Friday evening from 6:30pm. All technical talks and activities start at 8.00pm on Friday evening unless otherwise stated in the Syllabus.

Events scheduled for the coming six months

Fri, 28th Jul 20:00 TALK: What's this CTCSS business? - Cal VK3ZPK
Fri, 4th Aug 20:00 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING:
Fri, 11th Aug 20:00 TALK: What's inside my Cavity? - Bert VK3TU
Fri, 18th Aug 20:00 TALK: D-Day and the Phantom Wireless Group. - Barry VK3SY
Sat, 19th Aug 10:00 On Air: International Lighthouse & Lightship weekend
Sun, 20th Aug 10:00 On Air: International Lighthouse & Lightship weekend
Fri, 25th Aug 20:00 TBA:
Fri, 1st Sep 20:00 GENERAL MEETING:
Fri, 8th Sep 20:00 TBA:
Fri, 15th Sep 20:00 TALK: Oceania Contest - Lou VK3ALB
Fri, 22nd Sep 20:00 TALK: Show & Tell - what have you built?
Fri, 29th Sep 20:00 5th FRIDAY: BBQ & Auction
Fri, 6th Oct 20:00 GENERAL MEETING:
Sat, 7th Oct 24:00 On Air: Oceania DX Contest"
Sun, 8th Oct 24:00 On Air: Oceania DX Contest"
Fri, 20th Oct 20:00 TBA:
Fri, 27th Oct 20:00 TBA:
Fri, 3rd Nov 20:00 GENERAL MEETING:
Fri, 10th Nov 20:00 TALK: Oceania review - Lou VK3ALB
Fri, 17th Nov 20:00 TBA:
Fri, 24th Nov 20:00 TBA:
Fri, 1st Dec 20:00 GENERAL MEETING:
Fri, 8th Dec 20:00 TBA:
Fri, 15th Dec 17:00 GARC in the PARK - Christmas breakup for members and spouses. Venue: Eastern Gardens near rotunda (BYO salad, drinks and bread - GARC supply meat and BBQ)
Fri, 22nd Dec 20:00 Holiday Schedule
Fri, 29th Dec 20:00 Holiday Schedule
Fri, 5th Jan 20:00 Holiday Schedule
Fri, 12th Jan 20:00 Holiday Schedule
Fri, 19th Jan 20:00 Holiday Schedule
Fri, 5th Jan 20:00 Holiday Schedule
Fri, 12th Jan 20:00 Holiday Schedule
Fri, 19th Jan 20:00 Holiday Schedule

Events you’ve missed in the last few months

TALK: Even More Trivia - Pete VK3kp
TALKFEST: Gathering of members discuss what our Syllabus could/should look like.
GENERAL MEETING:
5th FRIDAY: BBQ & Auction
Solstice Dinner:
TALK: A Surprise Talk - Lee VK3PK
TALK: 1939 Warning - Cal VK3ZPK (If I get it done)
GENERAL MEETING:
TALK: Geelong Trams - the history - Nick VK3TY
TALK: Cycles and Megacycles - the embrionic GARC - Barry VK3SY
TALK: LP FM Casting Pt.1 - Don VK3BIG
GENERAL MEETING:
TALK: Cathie Kerr-Nelson. Bendigo Bank - Connected Communities